About UsHistory of Hyde ParkBoards & CommitteesBylaws (Revised 2017)Meetings & MinutesLocal InformationArea SchoolsZoning & MapsPublic Service DirectoryMembershipContact

Boards & Committees

we meet the 3rd thursday of every month

HPNC Board of Trustees

By-Law Review, Editorial Board of Review

Janet Buening

Danielle Discepoli

Dave Hapner

Scott Hassell

Norman Lewis

Sybil Mullin

Rich Postler

Annie Rusche

Todd Roe

Paul Rudolf

Alfred Shikany

Bob Smyth

Blair Whitney

Valerie Woodham

Gary Wollenweber

Officers & Executive Committee

By-Law Review, Editorial Board of Review


Danielle Discepoli

Vice President

Scott Hassell

Communications Secretary

Valerie Woodham


Norman Lewis

Recording Secretary

Sybil Mullin

Executive Committee Member

Bob Smyth

HPNC Representatives to:

By-Law Review, Editorial Board of Review

Ault Park Advisory Council

Alfred Shikany

Hyde Park East Business Association

Bob Smyth

Hyde Park Square Business Association

Janet Buening, Rich Postler

Invest in Neighborhoods

Norman Lewis (NSP Manager), Bob Smyth

Wasson Way Bike Path

Dave Hapner, Danielle Discepoli

Hyde Park Center for Older Adults

Janet Buening

Hyde Park School LSDMC

Valerie Woodham

Hyde Park Neighborhood Improvement Corporation (HPNIC)

Janet Buening, Norman Lewis, Scott Hassell, Carl Uebelacker (HPNIC secretary)

July 4th Committee

Alfred Shikany

Committees & Roles


By-Law Review, Editorial Board of Review

Ad Hoc Chair: Ann Gerwin

Members: Janet Buening, Sybil Mullin, Alfred Shikany, Carl Uebelacker


Technology/website, social media, mass e-mail distribution, e-newsletter, & print communication

Co Chairs: Janet Buening & Norman Lewis

Members: Annie Rusche, Gytis Matulaitis, Jennifer Sauers, Alfred Shikany

Community Outreach & Development

Community awareness, Spring Annual Meeting, Students and Persons of the Year awards, fundraising

Chair: Alfred Shikany

Members: Danielle Discepoli, Bob Smyth, Valerie Woodham, Blair Whitney


All matters relating to membership, including new members and renewals

Chair: Annie Rusche
Members: Rich Postler, Sybil Mullin

East Hyde Park

All matters relating to East Hyde Park

Chair: Bob Smyth

Members: Jay Ashmore, Norm Lewis, Tim Schirmang, Valerie Woodham, Blair Whitney


All matters relating to public or private schools and education.

Chair: Dave Hapner

Members: Sybil Mullin


Beautification, Square, Parks, Street Trees, Recreation, Lunken Airport, and all other similar matters

Chair: (vacant)
 Danielle Discepoli, Alfred Shikany, Carl Uebelacker, Dave Hapner


All matters relating to the budget, funding requests, and financial matters

Chair: (vacant)

Members: Janet Buening, Norman Lewis


All matters relating to new Trustees - the five members are appointed by the Executive Committee

Chair: Sybil Mullin

Members: Scott Hassell, Bob Smyth, Blair Whitney, Valerie Woodham

PLAN Hyde Park

Long Range Plan ad hoc committee

Chair: Janet Buening

Members: Norman Lewis, Gary Wollenweber, Dave Hapner, Scott Hassell, Andy Scarpitti

Traffic and Public Safety

All Matters related to traffic and safety concerns

Chair: Dave Hapner

Members: Shannon Keese


All matters relating to zoning & building codes, property maintenance, and Urban Design District

Chair: Gary Wollenweber

Members: Norman Lewis, Michael Mauch, Couper Gardiner, Carl Uebelacker, Tom Petre, Scott Hassell, Danielle Discepoli